运行情况概要

  • 一个七人组成的 IT 团队即可为学校内 1,500 多台几乎只使用 Apple 设备的电脑提供支持。
  • 技术、通讯和行政管理部门中使用 iMac 设备的一些员工需要为管理和募捐数据库从 Blackbaud 访问几个关键的只能在 Windows 下使用的应用程序

解决方案概要

  • ASIJ 在 40 多名员工的 iMac 设备上部署了 Parallels Desktop for Mac Business Edition。
  • Parallels 环境是基于有线连接的,并独立于学校的无线互联网网络,以便增强安全性。

优势概要

  • 员工们发现使用 Paralles 能够实现简单无缝的操作。
  • 每三年学校能从不用购买 Wintel 硬件上节省大约 24,000 美元。
  • IT 团队发现 Parallels 许可证易于管理,并能够对不同的虚拟机进行试验。

使用的 Parallels 产品

 

下载案例分析

日本美国学校 (以下简称 ASIJ) 创立于 1902 年,是世界上领先的国际学校之一,其位于长府的主校区拥有来自 40 个国家的 1,535 名学生,并且在东京的六本木地区拥有一个早教中心。这所学校的员工超过 150 名,提供多元化的课程和课外计划。

ASIJ 是全美独立学校协会的成员,并得到西部学校和学院协会的完全认可。大约四分之三的毕业生被美国高校录取,而剩下的四分之一则被加拿大、英国、澳大利亚和日本的高校录取。

著名的校友包括前美国驻日本大使 Edwin Reischauer、奥斯卡金像奖获奖女演员 Joan Fontaine 以及索尼公司总裁兼 CEO Kaz Hirai。

计算环境

ASIJ 一直以来都是将信息技术作为重要学习工具的先行者。学校早在二十世纪八十年代中期就首次部署了个人电脑。作为日本电报电话公司 (NTT) 在二十世纪九十年代初期的试点工程的一部分,该校是日本最先连接到互联网的学校之一。

实际上,ASIJ 是一个运行 Macintosh® 的机构,提供在开放网络上运行的无线环境,使学生们能够轻松地直接联网。该校大约有 40 名员工通过单独的、有线连接的 Paralles 环境使用关键业务所需的 Windows® 管理和数据库应用程序,以确保一切“都能正常工作”。

据 ASIJ IT 服务经理 Josh Raub 介绍,该校采用这种方法,是因为这一方法高度致力于通过其数字公民计划与学生们共同协作。学校相信,让学生们获取信息技术工具,能够使他们更富有想象力,并帮助他们做出明智的选择。

所有六到十二年级的学生都携带他们自己的 Apple®、MacBook Pro® 和 MacBook Air® 电脑,所有二到五年级的学生都携带他们自己的 iPad® 设备。甚至学龄前儿童都使用 iPad。大多数教职工都使用 MacBook Pro 和 iMac® 设备;只有几个会计部员工还在运行 Windows PC,主要是出于旧应用程序的原因。

挑战

ASIJ 可能是一个主要由 Mac®驱动的机构,但大约有 40 名使用 iMac 设备的技术、通信和文秘员工必须从 Blackbaud® 访问几个关键的只能在 Windows 下使用的应用程序,这是学校和非盈利组织的黄金标准。其中一个用户是 Matt Wilce,他是该校通信和年度支持部总监。

他和同事们采用的 Blackbaud 应用程序包括 Education Edge (EE),用于 ASIJ 的学生信息数据库。该软件可以处理管理的各个方面,从招生、出勤和日程安排数据到健康信息、校车分配和课外计划数据。ASIJ 采用的另一个来自 Blackbaud 的 Windows 产品是 Raiser’s Edge (RE),这是一个关系管理数据库,该校用于处理当前的家庭和校友记录、活动报名和募捐数据。

ASIJ 的网站使用 Blackbaud 的 NetCommunity 内容管理系统,能够直接从 EE 和 RE 中提取信息。通过连接到 Blackbaud 数据库的 Web 界面向学生们发送问卷调查和大量电子邮件。Raub 介绍道,由于 Blackbaud 与 Microsoft® 技术堆栈完全集成,所以不太可能会在短期内推出该软件的 Mac 版本。

解决方案

一方面,ASIJ 已经意识到 Windows 平台对员工的重要性,但另一方面,学校也曾努力避免只是为了能够利用 Blackbaud 而运行和维护两种电脑所带来的混乱局面及额外费用。

ASIJ 为员工访问 EE 和 RE 选择了 Parallels Desktop for Mac Business Edition,因为他们的工作要求他们经常在 OS X® 和 Windows 之间切换。“就重启时间这一方面而言,Boot Camp® 是不切实际的。”Raub 说道,“我们也研究过 VMware®,但发现 Parallels 更易于理解。我们还喜欢 Parallels 可以按照需要的方式进行配置这一功能,并且质量更好,系统运行得更快。Paralles 与 OS X 整合地更好。”

正如学生们通过无线网络直接访问互联网一样,IT 团队配置系统,使配备 iMac 的员工在通过 Blackbaud 数据库的 Paralles 虚拟机 (VM) 使用 Windows 时,能够经由单独、有线的内部网络在 OS X 平台上以无线方式工作。

“我们喜欢 Paralles 的其中一点就是,我们完成设置后,iMac 随附的 Mac OS X 的以太网端口是关闭的,对于他们的 Mac 来说,以太网端口不存在,但在 Paralles 中以太网端口处于连接状态。”Raub 说道。“这是一个非常棒的功能,这两个网络因此而可以相互不接触,因为我们不希望可从外部访问内部网络。我们让这两个系统无缝集成,这样人们就不知道他们运行的是两个系统,Parallels Desktop for Mac Business Edition 实现了这一功能。”

结果

作为经常使用 Blackbaud 应用程序的员工之一,Wilce 非常喜欢 Paralles 所提供的便利。“过去,我曾经有两台电脑,一台用于设计和通信的 Mac 以及一台用于访问学生信息的 PC。我倾向于避免使用 PC 来访问数据库,而采取叫别人提供信息这一方法。这是因为,仅仅为了一个简单查询,我不得不启动和登录电脑,这太痛苦了,我从来没这么操作过。”他说道,“Parallels 使您的工作轻松得多,因为您无需切换设备。这大大提高了我的工作效率。”他的经历引起了同事中另一个 Blackbaud 用户的共鸣。

“过去,我曾经有两台电脑,一台用于设计和通信的 Mac 以及一台用于访问学生信息的 PC。Parallels 使您的工作轻松得多,因为您无需切换设备。这大大提高了我的工作效率。”
— Matt Wilce,通信和年度支持部总监

 

尽管选择 Paralles 的最重要因素是质量,而不是原料成本,Raub 指出,Paralles 仅在硬件支出方面每三年就为 ASIJ 节省了 24,000 美元。另外,还极大地节省了时间,避免了挫败感。“Parallels 提供了一个很好的无缝体验,而无需我们用户去了解后台所发生的事情。”Wilce 补充道,

“我们已经能够简化学校管理的关键部分,因为 Parallels 让 Windows 不再成为阻碍。Parallels Desktop Business Edition 使 IT 团队轻松地管理许可证和升级。我们可以使用不同的虚拟机并调整它们。接下来,我们要做的就是将虚拟机文件复制到新电脑,而无需担心设置。新电脑很快就能正常工作,因为 Parallels 会设置驱动并进行配置。”Raub 总结道。

Operational Situation Summary

  • A seven-person IT team supports more than 1,500 machines in a school that uses Apple devices almost exclusively.
  • Some staff in the technology, communications, and administrative departments use iMac devices and are required to access several key Windows-only applications from Blackbaud for the administration and fundraising database

Solutions Summary

  • ASIJ deployed Parallels Desktop for Mac Business Edition on the iMac devices of more than 40 staff.
  • The Parallels environment is wire-based and separate from the school’s wireless Internet network to reinforce security.

Benefits Summary

  • Staff members find using Parallels simple and seamless.
  • The school saves around US$24,000 every three years from not having to buy Wintel hardware.
  • The IT team finds it easy to manage the Parallels licenses and likes being able to experiment with different VMs.

Parallels Products Used

 

Download Case Study

Established in 1902, The American School in Japan (ASIJ) is one of the world’s leading international schools with about 1,535 students from 40 countries at its main campus in Chofu and an Early Learning Center in Roppongi, Tokyo. With more than 150 staff, the school offers diverse curricular and cocurricular programs.

ASIJ is a member of the National Association of Independent Schools and is fully accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges. Around three-quarters of graduates matriculate at colleges in the US, with most of the remaining quarter matriculating in Canada, the UK, Australia, and Japan.

Notable alumni include former US Ambassador to Japan Edwin Reischauer, Academy Award–winning actress Joan Fontaine, and Kaz Hirai, president and CEO of Sony Corporation.

Computing Environment

ASIJ has long been an early adopter of information technology as a vital learning tool. The school first deployed personal computers in the mid-1980s. It was one of the first schools in Japan to hook up to the Internet, as part of a Nippon Telegraph and Telephone (NTT) pilot program in the early 1990s.

ASIJ is virtually a Macintosh®-run institution with a wireless environment running on an open network, making it easy for students to go directly online. It has about 40 staff using business-critical Windows® administrative and database applications through a separate, wire-based Parallels environment that ensures everything "just works".

According to Josh Raub, manager of IT services at ASIJ, the school took that approach because it is highly committed to working with students through its Digital Citizenship Program. It believes that giving students access to information technology tools empowers them to be more imaginative and helps them make smart choices.

All sixth through 12th grade students bring in their own Apple® MacBook Pro® and MacBook Air® computers and all second through fifth graders bring their own iPad® devices. Even preschoolers use an iPad. Most faculty members use MacBook Pro and iMac® devices; a few accounting staffers only run Windows PCs, largely for legacy application reasons.

Challenges

ASIJ may be a predominantly Mac®-driven institution, but around 40 technical, communications, and secretarial staff using iMac devices must access several key Windows-based applications from Blackbaud® that are a gold standard for schools and nonprofit organizations. One of those users is Matt Wilce, the school’s director of communications and annual support.

The Blackbaud applications he and colleagues run include Education Edge (EE), used for ASIJ’s student information database. This software handles all aspects of administration, from admissions, attendance, and schedule data to health information, bus assignments, and cocurricular data. Another Windows offering from Blackbaud that ASIJ runs is Raiser’s Edge (RE), a relationship management database, which the school uses for handling current family and alumni records, event registrations, and fundraising data.

ASIJ’s website uses Blackbaud’s NetCommunity content management system, which can pull information directly from both EE and RE. Surveys and mass emails to constituents are sent through the web interface, which connects to the Blackbaud databases. Raub says that because Blackbaud is very integrated with the Microsoft® technology stack, it is unlikely that Mac versions of the software will come out any time soon.

Solutions

Although recognizing the importance of the Windows platform for its staff’s use, ASIJ was also keen to avoid the clutter and the additional cost associated with running and maintaining dual machines just to accommodate Blackbaud.

ASIJ chose Parallels Desktop for Mac Business Edition for its staff accessing EE and RE because their work requires them to switch between OS X® and Windows frequently. "Boot Camp® would have been impractical in that respect because of the reboot times," said Raub. "We also looked into VMware® but found Parallels easier to understand. We also liked that we could configure it the way we needed, and the quality is better; systems could run faster. Parallels integrated better with OS X."

Just as students get direct access to the Internet through the wireless network, the IT team configured the system to enable iMac-equipped staff to work wirelessly on the OS X platform but go through a separate, wired internal network when using Windows with the Parallels virtual machine (VM) for the Blackbaud database.

"One of the things we like about Parallels is that we have it set up so the Ethernet port is off for Mac OS X with the iMac—to their Mac, it doesn’t exist—but within Parallels the Ethernet port is connected,"said Raub. "That’s a great feature because the two networks aren’t touching each other, as we don’t want the internal network to be accessible outside. We keep things seamless so people don’t really know they’re running two systems—Parallels Desktop for Mac Business Edition makes that happen."

Results

As one of the staff who constantly uses Blackbaud applications, Wilce loves the ease that Parallels has provided. "In the old days, I used to have two computers, the Mac for design and communications and a PC for accessing constituent information. I would tend to avoid using the PC to access the database and resort to calling out to someone to provide the information. That’s because having to start up and log in just to look up a quick query was such a pain that I never did it," he said. "Parallels makes your workflow so much easier because you’re not switching devices. That’s made a big difference to me." His experience is echoed by the other Blackbaud users amongst his colleagues.

 

"In the old days, I used to have two computers, the Mac for design and communications and a PC for accessing constituent information...Parallels makes your workflow so much easier because you’re not switching devices. That’s made a big difference to me."
– Matt Wilce, Director of Communications & Annual Support

 

Although quality, rather than raw cost, was the overriding factor in choosing Parallels, Raub notes that Parallels saves ASIJ around US$24,000 every three years in hardware spending alone. But the other significant savings have been in time and frustration. "Parallels provides a nice, seamless experience without us users having to know what’s going on in the background," added Wilce.

"We’ve been able to streamline a key part of the school administration because Parallels allows Windows to just get out of the way. And Parallels Desktop Business Edition has made it easy for the IT team to manage licenses and upgrades. We can play with different VMs and tweak them. Then all we have to do is copy the VM file to a new machine; we don’t have to worry about the settings. It just works because Parallels takes care of drivers and configuration," concluded Raub.