Рабочая среда
  • Компьютерные учебные классы Luton Sixth Form College
  • 1400 ПК с Windows 7
  • 80 компьютеров Mac с OS X Mavericks (10.9)
Платформа управления ПК
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2012
  • System Center Configuration Manager 2012 R2
Требуется
  • Консолидированная система управления для контроля за ПК и компьютерами Mac
  • Устранение необходимости обновления компьютеров Mac вручную
Рассмотренные решения
  • Инструменты ARD и OS X Server
  • Подключаемый модуль Parallels Mac Management для Microsoft SCCM
Обзор состояния дел
  • Все системы должны быть на одном программном уровне
  • Отсутствует автоматизация на месте
  • Недоступно оборудование серверного класса Apple
  • Стандартные функции System Center недостаточно стабильны
Обзор решения
  • Реализация Parallels® Mac Management
  • Использование имеющегося серверного оборудования Wintel
  • Регистрация компьютеров Mac в имеющейся среде System Center
Обзор преимуществ
  • Удобное развертывание программного обеспечения на всех компьютерах Mac
  • Быстрое обучение
  • Долгосрочная гарантийная поддержка оборудования
  • Дополнительные преимущества управления хранилищем и профилем
Используемые продукты Parallels
  • Parallels Mac Management для Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM)
  • Parallels Desktop® для Mac Бизнес Версия

www.lutonsfc.ac.uk

Скачать пример использования

В 7:30 Иен Норт открывает двери компьютерных учебных классов колледжа Luton Sixth Form College. Просторные кабинеты нового корпуса оборудованы ПК и компьютерами Mac® последнего поколения. Всего через несколько минут на урок информатики придут первые студенты.

Luton Sixth Form College, первый колледж для старшеклассников в Великобритании, был основан в 1966 году. Колледж располагается в графстве Бедфордшир (приблизительно 48 км от Лондона) и принимает на обучение студентов со всего мира.

В колледже в центре внимания находятся студенты и их личностный рост. Обучение осуществляется в непредвзятой современной манере. Конечно же, не без помощи компьютеров. Просто идеальное сочетание! Luton Sixth Form College ежегодно выпускает более 1000 студентов, подготовленных для обучения в высших учебных заведениях, а около 100 из них поступают в элитные университеты по всему миру.

Luton Sixth Form College оснащен более чем 1400 ПК и приблизительно 80 компьютерами Mac с OS X® Mavericks (10.9) — от iMac® и MacBook Pro® до Mac mini. Все компьютеры колледжа подключены к центральной сетевой инфраструктуре и управляются централизованно. Однако это потребовало много времени и усилий.

Несколько месяцев назад установка последних обновлений безопасности и новых программных пакетов на каждый компьютер Mac отнимала у Иена Норта, системного инженера колледжа, массу времени. В колледже 2594 студента и столько же пользователей компьютеров, а это влечет за собой множество административных задач.

"Нам необходимо было обеспечить безопасность всех систем и установить одинаковые версии приложений на все компьютеры Mac", — говорит Норт. Для этого требовалось выполнить большой объем сложных операций и потратить много времени на обслуживание систем.

"Обновляя приложения вручную и переустанавливая их, мы потеряли очень много времени, — говорит Норт. — Мы пробовали управлять компьютерами Mac с помощью встроенных инструментов Apple Remote Desktop™ (ARD) и Mac OS X Server. Однако поскольку ARD не является автоматизированным решением, системному администратору приходилось выполнять слишком много операций. Встроенные инструменты OS X также оказались непригодны для этой задачи".

К тому времени истек срок службы задействованного в колледже сервера Xserve®. Компания Apple® прекратила выпуск этих устройств и не предоставила никакого подходящего оборудования взамен. Поэтому колледж был вынужден искать новое решение. Поскольку для управления ПК в колледже уже использовался продукт Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM) 2012 R2, необходимо было подобрать решение, которое можно было бы интегрировать в него. Что касается компьютеров Mac, решено было исключить использование полных образов системы для каждого устройства. Кроме того, требовалось зашифровать содержимое жесткого диска на мобильных рабочих станциях MacBook.

Во время тестирования стандартного решения Microsoft выяснилось, что оно недостаточно стабильное, его функции ограничены, а добавлять приложения и настройки с его помощью слишком сложно. Установка Microsoft® Agent вызвала определенные проблемы. Каждое приложение нужно было конвертировать в формат, доступный для чтения SCCM. Чтобы установить настройки, требовалось указать путь для множества PLIST-файлов и найти в них соответствующие значения. Все это означало, что необходимо организовать дополнительное обучение для менее опытных сотрудников.

"Нам очень важно было найти удобное решение для управления компьютерами Mac и Windows", — поделился Норт, упомянув также привычный интерфейс и отсутствие дополнительного обучения. В итоге решено было попробовать применить подключаемый модуль Parallels Mac Management для Microsoft SCCM. Это решение удалось беспрепятственно интегрировать в имеющуюся систему и политики SCCM. "Внедрить решение Parallels не составило никакого труда", — заявляет Норт.

В качестве промежуточного инструмента используется прокси Parallels Management. Он работает на самом низком уровне операционной системы и пересылает информацию, собранную Parallels Agent, в SCCM. Все эти операции не видны конечным пользователям, и в этом заключается уникальность решения. Конечному пользователю нужна готовая к использованию рабочая станция, а администратор должен следить за соблюдением стандартов, обновлениями безопасности и необходимыми пользователю программами, и при этом все хотят нормированный рабочий день.

Ядро решения для управления запущено на сервере Dell PowerEdge 2950 с Microsoft Windows Server 2012 и System Center Configuration Manager 2012 R2. Стандартная консоль управления SCCM предоставляет Норту и его коллегам удобный доступ ко всем компьютерам в сети с интегрированным подключаемым модулем Parallels Mac Management. В результате чего компьютеры Mac становятся полноправными участниками ИТ-сети колледжа. Их поддержка осуществляется на ряду с компьютерами Windows, на них регулярно устанавливаются обновления и исправления, а также они могут быть в любой момент адаптированы под спонтанные индивидуальные требования с помощью Parallels Mac Management для SCCM.

Теперь когда Иен Норт по вечерам закрывает компьютерные классы колледжа Luton Sixth Form College, его студенты становятся еще на один шаг ближе к получению квалификации для дальнейшего обучения. А сам Норт идет домой с хорошим настроением, зная что его компьютеры вносят неоценимый вклад в их будущий успех.

© Jan Florian Maas, 2014

Landscape
  • Luton Sixth Form College IT classrooms
  • 1,400 PCs running Windows 7
  • 80 Mac computers running OS X Mavericks (10.9)
PC Management Platform
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2012
  • System Center Configuration Manager 2012 R2
Need
  • Consolidated management system to oversee both PCs and Mac computers
  • Eliminate need to manually update Mac computers
Solutions Considered
  • ARD and OS X Server tools
  • Parallels Mac Management plug-in for Microsoft SCCM
Business Situation Summary
  • All systems need to be on the same software level
  • No automation in place
  • No server-grade hardware available from Apple
  • Native System Center features not stable enough
Solution Summary
  • Implementation of Parallels® Mac Management
  • Leverage existing Wintel server hardware
  • Enroll Mac computers in existing System Center environment
Benefits Summary
  • Easy rollout of software to all Mac computers
  • Quick learning curve
  • Long-term guaranteed hardware support
  • Additional benefits of inventory and profile management
Parallels Products Used
  • Parallels Mac Management for Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM)
  • Parallels Desktop® for Mac Business Edition

www.lutonsfc.ac.uk

Download Case Study

7:30 AM – At Luton Sixth Form College, Ian North is opening up the doors to the college’s IT classrooms. The spacious facilities of the new campus building are equipped with the latest generation of PCs and Mac® computers. In only a few minutes, the first students will arrive for their IT lessons.

Founded in 1966, Luton Sixth Form College was the first sixth form college in Great Britain. Located in Bedfordshire, approximately 30 miles north of London, the college attracts students from around the world.

Students and their personal development are the focus of attention at the college—here, people from all continents meet in an open-minded, modern world of learning. Computers are, of course, no exception. The combination seems to be ideal: More than 1,000 students each year leave Luton Sixth Form College with qualifications for university-level studies, and around 100 of them follow the call of elite universities worldwide.

Luton Sixth Form College is equipped with more than 1,400 PCs and approximately 80 Mac machines, ranging from iMac® to MacBook Pro® to Mac mini, all running OS X® Mavericks (10.9). They are connected to the central network infrastructure, as are the college’s PCs, and are managed centrally. However, it has taken a long time to get here.

A few months ago, North—an IT systems engineer at the college—had to spend a lot of time sitting at each Mac to install the latest security updates and new software packages. With 2,594 students and an equal number of computer users, the college had many administrative tasks to perform.

“Our systems need to be secure, and the applications installed on all the Macs need to be of the same version for the lessons,” said North. The result was a great deal of work dealing with Mac-induced headaches, as well as many hours of maintaining the systems.

“We lost so much time updating application software manually or reinstalling it,” said North. They tried to manage their Mac computers with a combination of Apple Remote Desktop™ (ARD) and Mac OS X Server’s in-product tools. “The problem with ARD was that it isn’t an automated solution, and that too many operations had to be performed by the system administrator,” North said. “We found that the built-in tools in OS X were inadequate for the task.”

By that time, the Xserve® deployed by the college had reached the end of its life. Apple® had discontinued the line and was not producing any suitable hardware to replace it—so the college decided to look for a new solution. As they already used Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM) 2012 R2 for managing their PCs, they wanted to find a product that could be integrated into it. For their Mac computers, they wanted to get away from the approach of using complete system images for each machine. In addition, the hard disk content on their mobile MacBook workstations had to be encrypted.

The college tested Microsoft’s native solution but felt it was not stable enough; its functionality was limited, and adding applications and settings was overcomplicated. The installation of Microsoft® Agent caused problems: Each application had to be converted into a format readable for SCCM. To establish settings, they needed to locate numerous preference files (PLISTs) and find the appropriate values inside them. This meant an additional training burden, especially for Ian North’s less technically experienced team members.

“A seamless management solution for Mac and Windows was very important to us,” said North, referring to familiarity and reduced training efforts. In the end, the college decided to deploy the Parallels Mac Management plug-in for Microsoft SCCM. This solution integrated seamlessly into their existing SCCM system and policies. “The rollout of the Parallels solution was no problem,” North said.

The intermediary tool between these two worlds is the Parallels Management proxy. Acting as a small bridge element at the lowest level of an operating system, the proxy forwards the information collected by the Parallels Agent to the SCCM. End users do not see any of this, and that is where the solution shines: The end user wants a workstation that’s ready to use, while the administrator must keep an eye on compliance, security updates, and the user’s software needs—and both of them want to do their job within regular working hours.

The core of the college’s management solution runs on a Dell PowerEdge 2950 server with Microsoft Windows Server 2012 and System Center Configuration Manager 2012 R2. Using SCCM’s default management console, North and his colleagues can comfortably access all the computers on their network, which has the Parallels Mac Management plug-in fully integrated. As a result, Mac computers are full members of the college’s IT network today. They are supported just like Windows computers, are always up-to-date, and can be adapted to spontaneous individual requirements at any time using Parallels Mac Management for SCCM.

Now, when Ian North locks the IT rooms at Luton Sixth Form College in the evenings, the school’s students are one step closer to graduating fully qualified—and North goes home feeling good in the knowledge that with his computers, he is contributing to their success.

©2014 Jan Florian Maas