If you have a mobile phone or tablet, it likely has sensitive data on it. You probably have personal and business emails and messages, contact details of clients, photo's and more. Some people even keep their credit card details on their phone. If you or one of your employees lose their device, or has it stolen, you don't want all that information being exposed. This is when a remote wipe is needed.
Remote wiping means that all data on your device is completely erased, and that includes data on any attached SD cards. The remote wipe feature completely erases all data on a mobile device, including any attached SD cards by resetting it back to its factory default settings. You can do this even when the device is not connected to the internet.