Isolating a Virtual Machine in Parallels Desktop


Parallels Support team guest author: Ajith Mamolin


Parallels Desktop is well known for providing the best integration possible between Windows and Mac. Files, folders, applications—it can all be shared between two systems.

At the same time, we realize that some users don’t need these sharing features, especially when it comes to testing for development needs. Many users will just disable sharing options in their virtual machine configuration. But did you know you can also completely isolate your VM in just a couple of clicks? Read on for more details…

You can enable isolation in your virtual machine configuration. Go to the Security tab and check the box to isolate your VM.

Isolating a VM

The image below shows the difference between the settings when sharing is enabled, and when your VM is isolated:

Isolating a VM

When you isolate your VM, these sharing features will be disabled:

Hope you found this blog useful! For more Parallels support tips, you can follow us on @ParallelsCares.
Try Parallels Desktop for free for 14 days!

Parallels Desktop

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.